Last few months and more…reflections on Pain


– practising with my yoga teacher, she continues to say… do as much as your body and breath allows. Do not be in pain or discomfort…sukham sthiram ( my inner voice…if I am not in pain maybe I am not doing the asana right, I won’t get the Benefit of the asana, I am looking for pain to validate my practice)- asked a nutritionist friend for advise on healthy eating and she suggested a happy menu ( my inner voice… so much food…how will I lose weight… where is starving my body? Where is discomfort and pain to achieve healthy body? How can I be doing right if there is no discomfort?)- the shoulder has been giving problems for more than 2 years… really… guess my threshold of pain is high… the physiotherapist…please move the shoulder in exercises as much as comfortable, there should be no pain or discomfort ( my inner voice … what no pain, no gain? How will the shoulder unfreeze if I don’t push it? Where is the pain? Where is the discomfort?)- my spiritual teacher…you can sit as you like in meditation, be comfortable, don’t be in pain, stretch yourself if need be, find your comfortable spot ( my inner voice … what no straight spine, no numb legs, no pain in the back then am I even meditating?)
What is this story, this identification with pain and discomfort? Why do we associate suffering? Why is it so uneasy to rest in comfort and lack of pain?
Am still reflecting… also turning and tuning in to being comfortable and painless … share your thoughts if it resonates …

Pain is not telling me that I am doing right…breathing is…

Leave a comment